Welcome to Arambagh Girls's College
     Student's Corner | Alumni | Teacher's Corner | Dashboard | Log In


Arambagh Girls´ College, though formally established in 1995, had its genesis much earlier in the dreams of a handful of local visionaries committed to the cause of women´s education. It was a challenging task to establish a college catering solely to women learners in a semi-urban sub- divisional town with a predominantly agriculture-based economy, where educating girls was not a priority.

However, the visionary founder-fathers of the college, in relentless commitment to their noble cause, set up an Organizing Committee with Hon´ble former MP Mr. Anil Basu as its President, local industrialist and philanthropist Mr. Balai Krishna Roy and former freedom fighter and MLA Mr. Binod Das as its Vice Presidents, leading Arambagh-based lawyer Mr. Biswanath Pal as its Secretary and Prof. Sailen Sarkar as its Treasurer. While Mr. Balai Krishna Roy donated land for establishing the college, Mr. Bijoy Modak, former freedom fighter and MP, facilitated the process of turning the dream into a reality. Financial contributions by a number of local residents of Arambagh, especially those by Mr. S. A. Gaffar and Dr. Prasanta Saha, went a long way in making the dream a reality. On 17 February 1989 the current Hon´ble Finance Minister of West Bengal, Dr. Ashim Dasgupta, laid the foundation-stone of the college.

On 30 August 1995 the college first held classes on temporary affiliation from the University of Burdwan, in memory of which the College Foundation Day is observed on 30 August every year. It began its journey with just 101 students studying the General Course curriculum. Well-wishing teachers of the neighbouring colleges offered their selfless support in the form of taking classes without remuneration. Dr. Satyabrata Bhattacharya of Netaji Mahavidyalaya acted as the Teacher-in-charge (honorary) till 1996 when Prof. Ashis Das, one of the first full-time teachers of the college, took over. Prof. Chittaranjan Maity joined as Principal in 1997 for a short period of time. On 16 July 1998 Dr. Baniprasad Sen joined the college as Principal and after his retirement Dr. Syed Sajidul Islam joined the college as Principal on 28 January 2009. In 1997 the college had already opened its first Honours Departments (English and Sociology); in 1998 it was permanently affiliated under the University of Burdwan. Another significant milestone was reached in 2004, when the college was recognized under Sections 2F and 12B of the U.G.C. Kind support from Hon´ble former MP and current President of the college Governing Body, Mr. Anil Basu, who made liberal contributions from his Local Area Development funds from time to time, has been instrumental in developing the infrastructural facilities of the college.

Arambagh Girls´ College has come a long way since its modest beginnings fifteen years ago. It now offers Honours courses in seven subjects and General courses in nine subjects taught by qualified teachers. It has about 1300 students on its rolls studying the Honours and General curricula in its nine academic departments. Like any other institution the college has its share of limitations and problems but it journeys into the future with the hope and conviction that we shall overcome.

Arambagh Girls' College

Arambagh, Hooghly

Arambagh, Hooghly, West Bengal. Pin 712601
PHONE & FAX NO: 03211-255960
Principal-- Dr.Syed Sajidul Islam- Mob Nos.- 09434355448 /08159962973

Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved by Aramagh Girls' College. Website desgined and maintained by SuvPalS Infotech